This page is a wiki. Please login or create an account to begin editing.

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
fluent's picture
Can anyone here help me with a Commodore 128?

hey guys. i was just curious if anyone here knew anything about the Commodore 128 computer. I found one in a storage unit and someday (not that soon) I want to restore it and use it for gaming. I was also wanting to eventually "burn" floppy disks for it, or whatever i need to do to play games on it.

So, does anyone here know anything about it? Or do I need to join yet another community? Smile

Comments

Macobyte's picture

You're a little off-topic here but maybe a few folks can chime in and set you in the right direction.

First of all, while I have no experience with or much knowledge of a Commodore 128, if it has a 1/2AA clock battery inside open it up and remove that immediately before it leaks and damages the board (if it hasn't already).

Next, search for someone local to you for a recapping servicing of the unit. Old capacitors can leak too and need to be replaced before they cause chemical or electrical problems.

As for getting data onto it, I would invest in a floppy drive emulator that lets you replace old, failure-prone physical media with SD cards. That will probably give you an easier path from files on the internet to files on the Commodore than having to go through a middle-man computer with a floppy drive, etc.

While I'm a Mac aficionado, I imagine there are a bunch of Commodore-specific sites and groups that would be willing to help you out in detail, step by step. A quick Google or Facebook search will very likely turn something up. Good luck!

fluent's picture