This page is a wiki. Please login or create an account to begin editing.


10 posts / 0 new
Last post
TheComputerKid's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011 Oct 18
Mac OS X 1.00 Public Beta Install help

I downloaded the old Mac OS X beta from http://wdl3.winworldpc.com/Beta%20Operating%20Systems/Macintosh/Apple%20OS%20X%2010.0%20'Kodiak'/, and when I try to open it on my Clamshell, it refuses to open it. Anyway to open this file?

Comments

jonnyboy's picture
Offline
Joined: 2009 Dec 7

everything at WinWorld is archived in a 7zip, isn't it? might be easiest to decompress from a Windows computer

http://www.7-zip.org/

alternatively using 'The Unarchiver' on a current Mac would probably work

http://unarchiver.c3.cx/unarchiver

to make matters more interesting it looks like (at WinWorld) the file has been segmented into 4 parts

TheComputerKid's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011 Oct 18

I have already unzipped it, but the .iso doesn't open in OS9, including in Toast 5.

Gary's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011 Jul 21

If you DO manage to install this junk, be sure to do it on a system that contains nothing valuable.

I had to reformat my disk drive (twice) by experimenting with it. I got to the fatal Kernel Panic within a few minutes of use.

Gary

MikeTomTom's picture
Offline
Joined: 2009 Dec 7

I've found it to be "hit and miss" when DL'ing 7zip'd files from winworldpc... Not all but some have been archived badly, especially with regards to Mac softwares.

24bit's picture
Online
Joined: 2010 Nov 19

I think we had a thread about the public beta some time ago.
I´ll look through my archives, whether I still have a good copy around.

TheComputerKid's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011 Oct 18

I finally have a Power Mac G3, so it will maybe work on there.

TheComputerKid's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011 Oct 18

I found a DMG of the beta, burned it on my 5th CD-R, but my G3 won't boot from it!

Protocol 7's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010 Aug 7

The Public Beta expired on May 15th, 2001. Make sure your clock is set before this. It should run fine on a PMG3. I had it installed on a G4.

TheComputerKid's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011 Oct 18

I've had enough trouble of trying to get it to work. I'm going to install 10.2.